The truth about Instagram photos

So you’re trawling through your Instagram feed looking at all these photos of beautiful women who evidently go to the gym, eat healthily and have natural glowing skin to match their perfectly shaped body. If you’re an Instagram addict like me then you’ll know the kind of girls I’m talking about. We all, once in our lives, have aspired to be like them but I’m here to tell you today that not all of what you see is true. In today’s society its so easy to manipulate photos with the magical help of airbrushing and effects. So that perfectly smooth baby bum skin may just be the works of a expert photoshopper with a hint of wizardry in the form of an app. Personally I was shocked to see what you could actually do on these apps from changing the shape of your face to your whole friggin body. That just ain’t right and more importantly that just ain’t you. Not sticking to my moto, Be true Be you, I’ll tell you that right now. Also what I find with all these Instagramers is that they really know how to pose to accentuate their assets if ya know what I’m saying. So I decided to have a go at all this professional Instagram photo stuff and it was quite interesting I must say but I’ll let you be the judge…

First up is the dreaded straight on photo which isn’t particularly my most flattering angle but by just making minor body movements, i.e. pushing my hips to the side and my bum out slightly, I wouldn’t say its 100 times better but I’d probably say its 80% better as it actually looks like I have a figure rather than just thick thighs (which I love and am very proud of don’t get me wrong, they just don’t need to be the centre of attention all the time). Also notice that by taking the photo from further away my body looks more in proportion and elongated which is always a good thing.

Now lets get to the be-hind area, my favourite but also most dreaded area when taking photos. One thing you have to remember when you have a big bum is that you gotta know its shape and learn how to work it. Here is a classic example in figure hugging jeans that are a godsend as well as nightmare. As you can see from the photos, the relaxed position on the left does nothing for my figure and actually makes my bum look rather strange, plus look at all those lines on my jeans! Compared to the right one where I’ve again stuck my booty out and placed my hand on my thigh to accentuate my curves. Also by sticking that booty out you can actually see my waist HALLELUJAH! I’ve gone from pancake to peachy in a matter of one position change.

Next I tried taking photos in a bodycon dress. Now this is something that all us curvy girls absolutely love but its just so hard to find one that doesn’t ride up as soon as you start walking. They also can be a bit tricky when it comes to taking photos as there’s no hiding in them I’ll tell you that. I must admit this one isn’t too bad but by slightly adjusting my hip position to the side and crossing my legs I feel it elongates my figure and gives me more of a shape.

The be-hind shot is a little different. As you can see from the left photo my butt looks a little spread out and isn’t able to shine like it is in the right photo. All you gotta do is tilt those hips to the side and push that booty out and BOOM bigger butt smaller waist. Also you can see that the right photo is a much closer shot than the left and yes that’s deliberate cuz you wanna give that booty the centre stage it deserves, especially in a bodycon dress.

Then the real business began when I started playing around with airbrushing. I can honestly say that I will now cautiously look at Instagram photos knowing what people have access to and what they can do with those things. So this is my attempt at airbushing…

I know its not a mega drastic change but you can see that my skin is baby bum soft approved, I now have mascara, my eyes are brighter and my lips are soft pink. I much prefer the left one with no filters, nothing if you ask me.

And then it gets worse when you can change the shape of your body. Now this is something that I am totally against. It may only be a minor difference as my legs look slimmer and my waist looks smaller but that’s just not me. Why pretend to be someone that you’re not just for some likes on Instagram? People should like you for who you are and not what you pretend to be as you can’t keep pretending your whole entire life. You’ve just got to embrace you for you and remember always Be True Be You.

 

 

Leave a comment