The question everyone gets asked

What do you want to be? Where do you want to go in life? These are some of the almighty questions that you get asked at many stages of your life but is there an answer and is this answer right or wrong? 

There are those who go through life on a certified path, they know what they’re doing and where they’re going and then there are those who have no clue whatsoever. But who is right? The answer is no one. Nowadays it’s difficult to say where you’ll be tomorrow, let alone in the next five years. Everyone is unique, has their own likes, dislikes, passions and hobbies which is something to be celebrated and not altered to simply ‘fit in’ with society, friends and even family. 

There are so many choices we must make in life and most of the time we try to search for the ‘right’ choice, but is there really such a thing as a ‘right choice’? You do what feels right for you in that moment. Think of it like you’re the captain of your own ship and the crew are your emotions, feelings, experiences and general well-being, they are your responsibility and no one else’s, you must take care of them in order for them to take care of you. I can’t express enough how important it is to do things for yourself, it may seem selfish at times but if you don’t look after yourself first how can you expect to be fit enough to lead your own ship. Don’t worry I’ll stop with the metaphors now. 

All throughout my time at school and to this day at uni I still have no clue what I want to do, because frankly my aspirations change on a daily basis. This is something that I have definitely learnt about myself over the past few years as I like to refer to myself as a ‘hobby hopper’. Now for those of you who don’t know what this means basically I can’t stick to just one thing, whether that be a hobby, passion or aspiration. I like to dip my fingers into many pies if you want to put it that way. Some may say that this isn’t something to be celebrated and label me as a ‘quitter’ but hey at least I keep things interesting. More to the point why would you force yourself do something that you didn’t like anyway, you wouldn’t make yourself eat something you don’t like so why is this any different? 

A lot of people, like myself, hate the thought of not having a plan in life but unpredictability should not be underestimated, instead embraced. I myself admit that I’m a firsthand culprit of disliking unpredictability but the beauty of life is that you don’t know where it’s going to take you. I have to say I was and still slightly am today one of those people who wants to know exactly what they’re doing in life, where they’re heading and if this isn’t known then end up getting all stressed and worried about it, but I now know that’s no way to live and I’m working on trying to bring out my spontaneous carefree side instead. So when someone asks you what you want to do in the future or even what your plans are for the week are, just say wherever life takes me. 

Be True Be You.

Leave a Reply

